Welcome to the Lodge-Podge: Part 3

(I have to send my thanks to Sunnyshay for contributing some lines for this chapter. It really helped to bring out their personalities. And again for those of you who sent participants here, if I didn’t message you for a contribution during these ‘Welcome’ chapters then I’ll reach out to you sometime for another chapter.)

While Sarafina was dodging Elderberry Wolff ), Willow is busy welcoming Evan Fletcher from the Fletcher Legacy Challenge to the Lodge-Podge Lodge.

Evan’s journey here has involved some alternate timelines and other mind-garbling technicalities, so we’re all being sort of careful not to tell him too much about his future.

Willow: “So, Evan, if you have any questions or need anything, feel free to ask one of us.”

Evan seemed pretty happy to see a pretty face. He has just went through a rough break up. Maybe he’s looking to mend his broken heart. So he’s in a slightly more cheerful mood when he goes to meet his roommate.

Evan:
I wonder why he’s just sitting here. He’s not watching the TV or reading or anything.

But there isn’t any awkward silence. As soon as Evan sits down, Bill begins asking him questions. You see, Bill is interested in learning about newly game-aware Sims and their perspectives.

Bill: “No. That wasn’t a joke. I’m talking about all THIS. Our world… a game… you know…”

Evan: “This…? I’m confused.”

Bill: “Me too… So you don’t know about the game.”

Evan: “I thought the convention wasn’t a joke or a ‘game’.”

Luckily that conversation didn’t really lead anywhere. And as Bill and Evan talked each other in circles the next group of Sims strutted themselves into the Lodge-Podge. And for some reason Willow can’t take her eyes off of one of them.

Mikey: “I thought you said there were going to be girls here?”

Ikey:
“Those are women.”

Mikey:
“I talkin’ about women my-”

Leonora: “-Never assume a woman’s age. Now be gracious gentlemen and greet the hosts. Hello ladies! I am Leonora Alves-Rivera and these are my sons, Isaac and Michael.”

Ikey: “Hello”

Mikey mouths “Hey” to Willow. Then grins


Leonora:
“He’s just being silly, don’t mind him.”

Willow suddenly sees the appeal of having a little more silliness around. She clears her throat before speaking.

Willow: “I don’t mind. You all will be in Cabin 5. If you need anything, feel free to ask.”

Mikey: “Just look at this place.”

Ikey: “What? You aren’t still complaining about the lack of girls.”

Mikey: “No. I was actually thinkin’ that things were lookin’ up for me this trip.”

When they get inside their cabin, Mikey makes a beeline for one of the bigger beds.

Ikey: “Not so fast. The baby gets the cot.”

Mikey: “What baby?”

Ikey: “You – baby brother, get will sleep on the cot.”

Mikey: “Ma?”

Leonora: “Mother is not sleeping on the cot. You two, be men and sort it out yourself.”

Ikey: “Cool. Let’s arm wrestle for the bed!”

Mikey:
“Fine! I’ll sleep on the plum clot.”

A while after Mikey tests out just how uncomfortable the cot is going to be, two more guests walk up the front path. As her avid gaze takes in all the beautiful scenery, Emelia Johnson strolls right inside.

Her mother, Fey Johnson, the 3rd Generation heir of the Sims and Such Legacy, on the other hand comes to a complete standstill before ever entering the front building.

Emelia: “Mom, are you really just going to stand there? Come in!”

When she gets no response, Emelia simply turns to the hosts and says her hellos.

Emelia: “I’m so, so excited to be here. Don’t mind my mom. She’ll come in when she’s done pouting or whatever she’s doing.”

Ana: I don’t want her to think we want her to stay out there. Maybe I should go talk to her -“

Emelia: “No! … I mean, I wouldn’t do that. She’s…” Emelia coughs “… not in the best mood right now. Could you just tell me what cabin we’re in?”

Ana: “You’re in Cabin 2.”

Emelia: “Great. Now where and what are you three going to be doing right now? Can I join you?”

Karen: “Well, we were probably going to hang out in here for a little while longer. Wait for your Mom to come in, and everything.”

Emelia: “Let’s go roast some marshmallows or even walk  bare-foot over the hot embers of the fire. That’d be more fun. Trust me, you don’t want to be in here, not when she gets in these moods.”

Emelia has said the words in a flippant way, but still Ana, Willow, and Karen laugh nervously.

Emelia: “I’m not joking. Well, I was about the walking on hot embers part. But c’mon. You do have marshmallows, right?”

***

Hours later, after all of the other guests and our hosts were fast asleep, the very last guest of the Nature and Science S-GAS arrives.

It’s Scarlett Firecracker, from the Gather Ye Rosebuds – Neighborhood Rotation blog.

The hosts were expecting here at the lodge, so they left her a note telling her she was in Cabin 8. It also informed her that her roommates were Manda I’llseeya and Sarafina Plumsin.

Scarlet isn’t particularly happy with having to sleep on an air mattress. She is used to living in the luxury that is afforded by motherlode. She looks a little envious of her cabin-mates sleeping soundly in their comfy beds. But as she sits down Scarlet has a comforting thought.

Scarlett: Maybe, just maybe if I can find a cute guy here… tomorrow night I might be sharing his bed instead of sleeping on this air mattress.

After changing into her pajamas, Scarlett falls asleep with surprising ease. Maybe that air mattress isn’t as bad as she thought. Then, all of the occupants of the Lodge-Podge Lodge were sleeping soundly. Some of them even dreamed of the adventures that await them during this retreat. But we’ll have to wait until next chapter to find out what this big assortment of big personalities gets up to in the Great Outdoors.

previous sgas chapternext sgas chapter

Leave a comment